Rawls News

Rawls College of Business


TTU Home Rawls College of Business Home Rawls College News Center

Rawls College News Center

Rawls Ambassadors Announce 2015-16 Executive Board Members

The Rawls Ambassadors recently nominated their Executive Board for the 2015-16 academic year. Congratulations to the following Ambassadors: President: Witt Westbrook, sophomore, Energy Commerce Vice President, Recruitment: Evan Estes, sophomore, Energy Commerce Vice Presidents, Outreach: Jen MacDonnell, junior, Energy Commerce, and Cole Gilmore, junior, Finance and minoring in Spanish Secretary: Paul Feyisetan, sophomore, Accounting Treasurer: […]

Lota Zoth Shares STEM Advice and Experiences with Rawls STEM MBA Students

The Rawls College’s STEM MBA program welcomed Lota Zoth, CPA, to speak during the STEM MBA Speaker Series, sponsored by the Texas Tech Alumni Association. Approximately 25 STEM MBA students and several Rawls faculty and staff members attended Zoth’s presentation, where she offered career advice and detailed her vast experience in STEM-related fields. Throughout the […]

Dr. Fleischman’s Research on Hawaiian Tax Rates Could Cause State Tax Changes

Associate Professor of Accounting Gary Fleischman, Ph.D., and fellow researchers – Terrance Jalbert of the University of Hawaii at Hilo (who is also a 1995 graduate of the Rawls College’s Ph.D. program in Finance) and Mercedes Jalbert of the Institute for Business and Finance Research – found that Hawaii’s current tax rates can result in […]

Area of Management Welcomes Dr. Gideon Markman

The Area of Management welcomes Gideon Markman, Ph.D., Professor of Strategy, Entrepreneurship and Sustainable Enterprise at Colorado State University, to present “Organizational Hostility: A Framework of Atypical Competitive Engagements” to Rawls students. Dr. Markman will speak Wednesday, April 8, from 1-2:30 p.m. in Rm. 291. All students are welcomed. About Dr. Markman Gideon Markman is […]

Finance Students Compete in CFA Institute Research Challenge

Last month, four Finance students represented Texas Tech and the Rawls College at the CFA Institute Research Challenge Case Competition at the regional level. The team, which consisted of Michael Ijeh, Tim Meyer, Kojo Prah and Sumer Miller, presented their equity research on a company in the energy sector at Rice University during the Texas […]

Four Rawls Faculty Members Promoted

Four Rawls College of Business professors received academic promotions this semester due to their diligence in the classroom, dedication to student success, and commitment to the college’s strategic goals. Please join the Rawls College in congratulating the following professors: Tyge Payne, who becomes a Full Professor in the Area of Management Dr. Payne’s research interests […]

Rawls STEM MBA in BizEd Magazine

The Rawls College’s STEM MBA Program was recently featured in BizEd Magazine‘s March/April 2015 edition. Stem @ Work: Technical Pursuits By Sharon Shinn, February 26, 2015 How business education gives professionals in scientific fields an edge. THE ENGINEERING AND SCIENCE students who sign up for Texas Tech’s new STEM MBA class are in for a […]

Finance Students Compete in Investment Case Competition

Three Rawls Finance students are competing in the Kerrisdale Capital Investment Case Study Competition sponsored by The Economist magazine. The team consists of Reid Chanon, David Henley and Joshua Neel – all seniors who are involved with the Student Managed Investment Fund (SMIF) at the Rawls College. Competing against 25 other teams from universities around the […]

“Oil Industry in the U.S., Merger and Acquisitions on the Horizon” – Franco Parisi, Joseph Kmetz and Leslie White

Visiting International Scholar Franco Parisi partnered with two Rawls students, Joseph Kmetz and Leslie White, to explain the U.S. oil industry and to look at potential mergers and acquisitions. As Visiting International Scholar, Dr. Parisi works with students in the Rawls Business Leadership Program and his Finance course to discuss current global situations and the […]

Thoughts on “Auditing the Fed” – Dr. Scott E. Hein, Robert C. Brown Chair in Finance

Dr. Scott E. Hein, Robert C. Brown Chair in Finance at the Rawls College of Business, shared his views on the Federal Reserve. For any questions or to receive more information, contact Dr. Hein at scott.hein@ttu.edu. Thoughts on “Auditing the Fed” The irony of events unfolding surrounding the political independence of the Federal Reserve System […]